RSS

Severe Asthma

27 Sep

I kept trying to go on.  To work, to feed missionaries, to take care of my family as I got worse and worse.  Every time I went to work I reacted to something new, just forget going to the store.

Finally came the day I went to the doctor for an urgent reaction at work and she asked me “what was I doing there?”  I said, here at the doctors?  She said no, at work.  I was on automatic, no one had said I shouldn’t go to work so I just kept going as best I could.  I clearly didn’t understand what was happening to my body.

At that appointment I was so sick and having such a hard time breathing that the doctor wouldn’t even let me drive home and insisted I have my husband pick me up, particularly as I work 40 minutes from home.

I was so out of it I didn’t even realize how sick I was.  When I finally stopped, it hit me like a Mack truck.  I slept for over a week only getting up to take medicine, I hardly ate as after I ate my body freaked out.  Eating, well, processing what I ate put tremendous pressure on my body.  I have never felt so physically stressed in my life.

During this time I was able to see an allergist and they told me I had severe asthma and that it was likely a chronic condition I would need to deal with for the rest of my life.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 27, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
