RSS

Fishbowl

25 Feb

I have been thinking.  With my necessity to avoid fragrance of any kind (deodorant, perfume, cologne or Febreze for example) I feel a bit like a goldfish in a fish bowl; I have my family with me, some water and a rocky bottom that is sometimes a bit unstable to stand on.  I am separate from those around me, by necessity.  It feels a bit lonely, I miss the engagement with other people.

Goldfish picture site link

I am more like a clown fish, who flourishes in large groups (schools).  I think the similarity to a clown fish is apt as they tend to pine when separated from their school but also because of how they live in connection with the anemone.  I need others like I need air, knowing that the differences and struggles while they may hurt, like rubbing the anemone, make me better and stronger.  It creates lasting relationships from which I thrive.

Clown fish site link

Alone?  Not Really.

While being separate is hard, I am not alone.  I am grateful that individuals take the time to drop things into my fishbowl in the form of kind notes, letters, and flowers.  They have brightened my day and have given me something to do – respond with letters of my own.

  • Mosiah 2:17

    And behold, I tell you these things that ye may learn wisdom; that ye may learn that when ye are in the service of your fellow beings ye are only in the service of your God.

I have been served and it has helped me to feel connected.  I am grateful!  I thank my Heavenly Father for the blessing these individuals have been in my life and for how they have lifted me when I was down.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 25, 2017 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
